28. -30 April 2023

Hochstamm Deutschland e.V. is the cultural carrier

Experience orchards here

On 28 April 2023, we celebrate the blooming orchards, the delicacies, the cultural heritage and the biodiversity all over Europe! Come and enjoy the day and the weekend - at home, on an excursion or on vacation. The programme includes

  • product tastings,
  • festivals,
  • excoursions,
  • information evenings,
  • photo competitions,
  • online offers and much more.

Zoom in the map to events that have taken place on site or online. Are you looking for a specific organiser? Use the search function at the top left of the map.

Would you like to register an event yourself?

Community

All over Europe there are people with great passion for orchards. On the European Orchard Day, we show this passion together. With every action and event we inspire for our work, the wonderful meadows as well as the delicious products. Get to know the hosts and ambassadors of a broad European alliance of orchards and click on the button below.

The Organisers

Austria
Europe
Germany
United Kingdom

Hochstamm Deutschland e.V. fills the day with blossoming life. We are actively supported by ARGE Streuobst, BirdLife Europe and the UK Orchard Network.

Motto

Preserving together - intact ecosystems against biodiversity loss

In line with the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration (2021-2030)   the focus this year is on biodiversity. Under this motto, we call for a halt to the ongoing degradation and disappearance of this ecosystem. #GenerationRestoration

Celebrate with us...

Large fruit trees of many species and varieties, for example apple, walnut or olive trees, take root in the meadows in rows and at irregular intervals. A high number of partly endangered animal and plant species are at home there.

The meadows are a cultural landscape created by man and only survive through cultivation. Our traditional knowledge of tree care, further processing of the fruit and much more is the fertile soil of orchard cultivation. This is why orchard cultivation is listed as an intangible cultural heritage by the German UNESCO Commission.

In many places in Europe, orchard meadows characterize entire natural and cultural landscapes, but the population of fruit trees is dwindling. Orchard Day shines the spotlight on the aesthetics of flowering orchards and the delicious products created from the fruit.

 

10 very good arguments for orchards

Crossword puzzles, memory, language apps - no longer relevant. One meadow, 50 varieties: Anyone who remembers these names is a memory master and spelling artist at the same time. We write all variety titles correctly and in many different languages - from the Schiennägelesbirne to the Oullins Reneklode to the Peasgood Sondergleichen. And: Who can claim to know Prince Albrecht and Kaiser Wilhelm face to face?

Blossoming cherry trees, a starry sky above a large pear tree, the soft chirping of nightingales - we know the perfect location for a first date. It's hard for your sweetheart to resist the incomparable atmosphere of an orchard. And, best of all: "Romance" is guaranteed all year round here. Also in winter one or even several mistletoe branches can be found in the branches of the old apple trees. In best case, only one....

Watching series for hours, drinking beer with friends, surfing for the latest trends - yes, all of this demonstrates endurance. But it's hardly enough for a powerful application. We offer the solution: Managing an orchard offers the best qualifications to convince the future boss. Want a selection? Tenacity (over generations), frustration tolerance (think of the cider fruit prices), toughness (anyone who cuts eight trees in one day knows what we're talking about), ability to work in a team (clash of views from grandma, grandpa, mother, uncle, neighbor,...), analytical skills (where did the apple get the funny dents from?)

What does the orchard offer that the beach do not: Nice food, romantic sights and activity program for young and old directly in front of the house - all in one place. This insider tip provides the best wellness and adventure program at the best price-performance ratio, away from all the annoying other vacationers. This is how sustainable travel works: Unpack your picnic basket, grab some local orchard apple juice, invite friends to hang out and enjoy.

We like to be thrifty. Who needs an expensive membership in a gym, a Zumba class or a handball club? The best and most balanced workout for abdomen, legs and the rest of our body is offered free of charge in the orchard - all year round and without prying eyes. For example, cutting trees strengthens arm muscles, balance and coordination. Even the healthy snack in between can be achieved via an athletic exercise.

Fridays for Future? We dare to step from the street into the meadow - and have been doing so for generations. We protect the climate through concrete action without much media attention. In doing so, we reduce energy consumption (no time for mobile phones and tablets - and yes, sometimes no internet either), mainly eat vegan (apart from the worm in the apple) or regional (the roast lamb is delicious) and drive sustainably at reduced speed (the old tractor only achieves 15 miles per hour) and recycle (the branch refuse makes the best wood chips for heating).

Well, sometimes we just need a reason to have a little self-pity. The best one is provided by managing an orchard. Inveterate orchardists are well aware of the stress reduction provided by a cleansing fit of anger when looking at cider fruit prices, political ungenerousness, and the threat of new buildings. As a result, orchardists strengthen their relatives' empathic skills in addition to their own frustration tolerance. But the best thing is: We are in charge - we have the opportunity to change things. Orchard meadows offer the best playground to become active ourselves.

We know a place where tall and tiny, old and young, with and without a migration background, green and brown, veteran and newcomer come together and live together without conflict. Anyone who is now imagining a utopian futuristic world has not yet been to the orchard. Practiced integration is the daily routine here, whether among trees, cultivators, or the insect world. The orchard meadow brings together.

In times of great loneliness, we know an effective antidote: pick up a shovel, loppers or a cider jar together. Some work needs many hands. Being a lone wolf is possible (and sometimes quite pleasant), but not very realistic. Everyone gets involved: in the family, in numerous orchard associations, initiatives, among neighbors.

The best finishes: THE feeling. Every orchard hero feels it. Actually, it can't be explained, but here's an attempt: The mixture of tradition, craftsmanship, technology, nature, community, culture, seasons, colors, fruits, scents....
Not convinced yet? Just give it a try. We guarantee, the recipe works without bad side effects. Always!

Take part

No matter whether you are an expert or a novice - You are cordially invited to all actions and events! Strengthen orchards and your host today and in the future: Share your knowledge with your environment and reach for the orchard products when shopping.

Browse the programme here

Together we will draw attention to your committed work and your products! Whether you are an association, initiative, company or private individual, organise an action and invite us to it. We will publish your action and event as part of a diverse programme. Of course, you will then be part of the community with your logo and name. Text and image material is available to you free of charge. As an exclusive bonus, we will send you our drink coasters.

Register an event

Social media, newspaper articles, word of mouth: draw attention to the European Orchard Day! Whether as an association, initiative, company or private person. In this way, you show the whole of Europe that you support orchard meadows. Free text and image material is available to you. After registration you become a visible part of the orchard community.

You would like to become a Messenger? Send an e-mail to kontakt@hochstamm-deutschland.de 

Fotographs title pictures: Andrea Letsch, Rudolf Schneider, Angela Hammer, fullnessdesign, Manfred Wolf

28. – 30. APRIL 2023

Hochstamm Deutschland e.V. ist Träger

Hier erleben Sie Streuobst

Am 28. April 2023 feiern wir in ganz Europa die blühenden Wiesen, die Köstlichkeiten, das Kulturerbe und die Vielfalt! Kommen Sie und genießen Sie den Tag und das anschließende Wochenende – in ihrer Heimat, bei einem Ausflug oder im Urlaub. Auf dem Programm stehen

  • Produktverkostungen,
  • Feste,
  • Wiesen-Führungen,
  • Infoabende,
  • Fotowettbewerbe,
  • Online-Angebote und vieles mehr.

Zoomen Sie in der Karte zu Aktionen, die vor Ort oder online stattfinden. Suchen Sie einen bestimmten Veranstalter? Nutzen Sie dafür die Suchfunktion oben links in der Karte.

Sie möchten selbst eine Aktion anmelden?

Streuobst-Community

Überall in Europa gibt es Menschen mit großer Leidenschaft für die Bewirtschaftung der Streuobstwiesen. Am Tag der Streuobstwiese zeigen wir gemeinsam diese Leidenschaft. Mit jeder Aktion begeistern wir für unsere Arbeit, die wundervollen Wiesen sowie die köstlichen Produkte. Lernen Sie die Gastgeber:innen und Botschafter:innen als breites europäisches Streuobst-Bündnis kennen und klicken Sie auf den folgenden Button.

Die Organisatoren

Österreich
Europa
Deutschland
Vereinigtes Königreich

Wir von Hochstamm Deutschland e.V. füllen den Tag mit blühendem Leben. Dabei unterstützen uns die ARGE Streuobst, BirdLife Europe und das UK Orchard Network.

Motto

Gemeinsam bewahren - Intakte Streuobstwiesen gegen den Biodiversitätsverlust

Ganz im Sinne der UN-Dekade zur Wiederherstellung von Ökosystemen   liegt der Fokus des Tags der Streuobstwiese auf der biologischen Vielfalt. Unter diesem Motto rufen wir dazu auf, die fortschreitende Verschlechterung und das Verschwinden dieses Ökosystems zu stoppen. #GenerationRestoration

Gemeinsam feiern wir:

Auf den Streuobstwiesen wurzeln in Reihen und unregelmäßigen Abständen großwüchsige Obstbäume vieler Arten und Sorten, zum Beispiel Apfel-, Walnuss- oder Olivenbäume. Eine hohe Anzahl teils bedrohter Tier- und Pflanzenarten ist dort beheimatet.

Die Wiesen sind eine durch den Menschen geschaffene Kulturlandschaft und überleben nur durch die Bewirtschaftung. Unser traditionelles Wissen über die Baumpflege, die Weiterverarbeitung des Obsts und vieles mehr ist der fruchtbare Boden des Streuobstanbaus. Deshalb steht der Streuobstanbau im Verzeichnis des Immateriellen Kulturerbes der Deutschen UNESCO-Kommission.

Vielerorts in Europa prägen die Streuobstwiesen ganze Natur- und Kulturlandschaften, doch der Bestand der Obstbäume schwindet. Der Tag der Streuobstwiese richtet das Spotlight auf die Ästhetik der blühenden Streuobstwiesen und die leckeren Produkte, die aus den Früchten kreiert werden.

 

10 gute Gründe für Streuobst

Kreuzworträtsel, Memory, SprachApp – das war gestern. Eine Wiese, 50 Sorten: Wer sich das merkt, ist Gedächtnismeister und gleichzeitig Rechtschreibkünstler. Wir schreibe sämtliche Sortennamen korrekt und in vielen verschiedenen Sprachen – von der Schiennägelesbirne über die Oullins Reneklode bis hin zum Peasgood Sondergleichen. Und: Wer kann schon behaupten, Prinz Albrecht und Kaiser Wilhelm von Angesicht zu Angesicht zu kennen?

Blühende Kirschbäume, weiter Sternenhimmel überm großen Birnenbaum, leises Nachtigallengezwitscher – wir kennen die perfekte Location fürs erste Date. Der oder die Angebetete widersteht nur schwer der unvergleichlichen Atmosphäre einer Streuobstwiese. Und das Beste: „Romantisch“ geht bei der Streuobstwiese rund ums Jahr. Auch im Winter findet sich der ein oder andere Mistelzweig in den ausladenden Ästen der alten Wiese. Im besten Fall aber nur einer….

Stundenlanges Serienschauen, ein Bierchen mit Freunden trinken, im Internet nach den neuesten Trends suchen – ja, das alles zeugt von Ausdauer. Aber für eine aussagekräftige Bewerbung reicht es wohl eher nicht. Wir haben die Lösung: Streuobst bietet die besten Qualifikationen, um den zukünftigen Chef zu überzeugen. Eine Auswahl gefällig? Ausdauer (über Generationen), Frustrationstoleranz (man denke an die Mostobstpreise), Belastbarkeit (wer an einem Tag acht Bäume schneidet, weiß wovon die Rede ist), Teamfähigkeit (Opas Arbeitseifer muss man auch aushalten können), analytisches Denken (wo kommt jetzt schon wieder der Schorf her?), …

Was hat die Streuobstwiese, was der Strand und das Meer nicht haben: Gutes Essen, romantische Anblicke, Beschäftigungsprogramm für Groß und Klein direkt vor der Haustüre, alles an einem Ort. Dieser Geheimtipp bietet abseits aller nervigen Mit-Urlauber das beste Wellness- und Erlebnisprogramm im besten Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. Nachhaltiges Reisen geht so: Picknickkorb auspacken, heimischen Apfelsaft auspacken, Freunde einladen und genießen.

Wir mögen´s sparsam. Wer benötigt schon ein teures Abo im Fitnessstudio, Zumbakurs oder im Handballverein. Das beste und ausgewogene Training für Bauch, Beine und Co. bietet die Streuobstwiese unentgeltlich, rund ums Jahr und ohne neugierige Blicke. Ein Beispiel: Baum schneiden stärkt Armmuskeln, Balance und Koordination. Auch der gesunde Snack zwischendurch lässt sich über eine stärkende Sportübung erkämpfen. Wer den Wettstreit liebt, ist beim Wettlesen (wer schafft die meisten vollen Erntekörbe an einem Nachmittag) oder mit Apfelkernweitspucken bestens bedient.

Fridays for Future? Wir wagen den Schritt von der Straße in die Wiese – und das schon seit Generationen. Das Klima schützen wir durch konkretes Tun ohne große Medienaufmerksamkeit. Dabei reduzieren wir sogar den Energieverbrauch (keine Zeit für Handy und Co. – und ja, manchmal auch kein Netz), ernähren uns überwiegend vegan (abgesehen vom Wurm im Apfel) bzw. regional (der Lammbraten mundet) und fahren nachhaltig mit gedrosselter Geschwindigkeit (der Lanz schaff nur 16 km/h) und recyclen (der Baumschnitt gibt beste Hackschnitzel zum Heizen)…

Ja, manchmal brauchen wir einfach auch einen Grund für Selbstmitleid. Den besten liefert uns Streuobst. Eingefleischte Streuobstfans wissen von dem Ausgleich durch einen reinigenden Zornanfall beim Blick auf die Mostobstpreise, politische Unzulänglichkeiten und das drohende Neubaugebiet. Dadurch stärken Streuobstheld:innen neben der Frustrationstoleranz auch die empathischen Fähigkeiten streuobstferner Angehörigen. Aber das Beste ist ja: Wir haben es selbst in der Hand – wir haben die Möglichkeit, Dinge zu ändern. Streuobst bietet da den besten Spielplatz überhaupt.

Wir kennen einen Ort, an dem Groß und Klein, Alt und Jung, mit und ohne Migrationshintergrund, Grün und Braun, Altgediente und Aufbrecher zusammenkommen und -leben, ohne Konflikte. Wer jetzt an eine utopische Zukunftswelt denkt, war noch nicht auf der Streuobstwiese. Gelebte Integration ist dort Tag für Tag angesagt, egal ob unter Bäumen, Bewirtschaftenden oder der Insektenwelt. Die Streuobstwiese bringt alle zusammen.

In Zeiten großer Einsamkeit kennen wir ein wirksames Gegenmittel: Gemeinsam zur Schaufel, Schere oder dem Mostglas greifen. Manche Arbeit braucht viele Hände. Einzelkämpfertum ist zwar möglich (und manchmal auch ganz angenehm), aber wenig realistisch. Alle greifen mit an: in der Familie, in zahlreichen Streuobstvereinen, Initiativen, unter Nachbarn.

Das Beste kommt zum Schluss: DAS Gefühl. Jeder Streuobstheld kennt es. Eigentlich ist es nicht erklärbar, aber hier ein Versuch. Die Mischung aus Tradition, Handarbeit, Technik, Natur, Gemeinschaft, Kultur, Jahreszeiten, Farben, Früchten, Düften,…
Noch nicht überzeugt? Einfach mal ausprobieren. Wir garantieren, das Rezept wirkt ohne Nebenwirkungen. Immer!

Mitmachen

Egal ob Streuobst-Spezialist:in oder Streuobst-Neuling – Sie sind zu allen Aktionen herzlich eingeladen! Stärken Sie den Streuobstanbau und ihre/n Gastgeber:in heute und in Zukunft: Teilen Sie ihr Wissen mit ihrem Umfeld und greifen Sie beim Einkauf zu den Streuobstprodukten.

Hier Programm durchstöbern

Gemeinsam machen wir auf ihre engagierte Arbeit und ihre Produkte aufmerksam! Egal ob als Verein, Initiative, Firma oder Privatperson, organisieren Sie eine Aktion und laden Sie dazu ein. Wir veröffentlichen ihre Aktion als Teil eines vielfältigen Programms. Sie zählen dann selbstverständlich mit Logo und Name zur Streuobst-Community. Ihnen stehen kostenfreie Text- und Bildmaterialien zur Verfügung. Als exklusive Zugabe senden wir Ihnen unsere Getränkeuntersetzer.

Aktion anmelden

Social Media, Zeitungsartikel, Mundpropaganda: Machen Sie auf den Tag der Streuobstwiese aufmerksam! Egal ob als Verein, Initiative, Firma oder Privatperson. So zeigen sie ganz Europa, dass Sie die Streuobstwiesen unterstützen. Ihnen stehen kostenfreie Text- und Bildmaterialien zur Verfügung. Nach Anmeldung werden Sie ein sichtbarer Teil der Streuobst-Community.

Sie möchten Botschafter:in werden? Senden Sie eine E-Mail an kontakt@hochstamm-deutschland.de 

Fotographen Titelfotos: Andrea Letsch, Rudolf Schneider, Angela Hammer, fullnessdesign, Manfred Wolf